Board of Directors

Graham Jarrett, Orlando Weekly
Duc Luu, Washington City Paper
Vice President
Anna Zusman, Willamette Week
Kimberly Griffin, Jackson Free Press
Karen Hawkins, Chicago Reader
Convention Chair
Elizabeth Jones, Nashville Scene
Design Chair
Brandi Rivera, Santa Barbara Independent
Digital Chair
Justin Rushing, The Daily Memphian
Diversity Chair
Chris Faraone, Dig Boston
Editorial Chair
Sayaka Matsuoka, Triad City Beat
Free Speech Chair
Cassidy Frazier, Austin Chronicle
Marketing Chair
Jimmy Boegle, C.V. Independent
Membership Chair
Stephanie Carey, The Pitch KC
Revenue Chair
Tracy Baim, Chicago Reader


Design Committee

The Design Committee advises on design programming for AAN conferences.

Chair: Elizabeth Jones (Nashville Scene)

Digital Committee

The Digital Committee advises on digital programming for AAN Conferences and on AAN digital initiatives.

Chair: Brandi Rivera (Santa Barbara Independent)

Editorial Committee

The Editorial Committee is responsible for developing editorial programming for AAN conferences; oversight of the AAN Awards; and anything else that relates to the concerns of AAN editorial staff.

Chair: Chris Faraone (Dig Boston)

Free Speech Committee

The mission of the Free Speech Committee is to create a forum for AAN members to learn and collaborate about current free speech issues facing the organization and individual members, and to advocate for open government and the protection of free speech, wherever possible. The committee also helps organize an annual Free Speech lunch at the annual AAN conference.

Chair: Sayaka Matsuoka (Triad City Beat)

Marketing Committee

The Marketing Committee is responsible for developing AAN marketing plans and programming.

Chair: Cassidy Frazier, Austin Chronicle

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is responsible for reviewing the applications of applying papers and reporting to AAN members on their suitability for membership in the association.

Chair: Jimmy Boegle (Coachella Valley Independent)

Committee Members: Pamela Polston (Seven Days), Brandi Rivera (Santa Barbara Independent), Kyle Shaw (The Coast), Matthew Steele (Little Village), Fran Zankowski (Boulder Weekly)

Revenue Committee

The Revenue Committee is responsible for all advertising and marketing programming for AAN conferences and all other services that relate to the concerns of AAN sales and marketing staff.

Chair: Stephanie Carey (The Pitch KC)

Committee Members: Lara Fischer (San Antonio Current), Cassidy Frazier (Austin Chronicle), John Heaston (The Reader), Colby Roberts (Seven Days)