Alt-Weekly Pulitzer Prize Winners: 1981-2012

How many times has a Pulitzer Prize been awarded to an alternative newsweekly? Seven.

From the Village Voice in 1981 to The Stranger in 2012, here’s a brief history of alt-weekly Pulitzer Prize winners:

  • 1981: Teresa Carpenter, The Village Voice for Feature Writing.

  • 1986: Jules Feiffer, The Village Voice for Editorial Cartooning.

  • 1994: Lloyd Schwartz, The Boston Phoenix for Criticism.

  • 2000: Mark Schoofs, The Village Voice for International Reporting.

  • 2005: Nigel Jaquiss, Willamette Week for Investigative Reporting.

  • 2007: Jonathan Gold, L.A. Weekly for Criticism.

  • 2012: Eli Sanders, The Stranger for Feature Writing.

Leave a Reply