LEO Weekly Takes 19 Metro Journalism Awards


Stephen George
LEO Weekly
502-895-9770 x206
sgeorge (at) leoweekly.com

LEO Weekly earned 19 awards at last Thursday’s Society of Professional Journalists Metro Journalism awards ceremony in Louisville, including several first place honors. The alternative newsweekly, started in 1990, was recognized for its continuing coverage of environmental issues, its coverage of women’s and minority affairs, its cultural criticism and its layout and design, among other things.

LEO Weekly also swept some categories, including column writing and reviews/criticism.

It was the 28th annual SPJ awards ceremony for Kentucky journalists. The full list of LEO Weekly winners is below.

Continuing Coverage

Honorable mention: Cary Stemle & Rick Redding for library tax coverage

2nd Place: Jennifer Oladipo for environmental and water issues coverage

Enterprise Reporting

Honorable mention: Cary Stemle for “All you need is love: Abbey Road protester”

Minority and Women’s Affairs Reporting

2nd Place: Lucinda Marshall for columns

1st Place: Scott Wade for “Stolen Moments”

Feature Writing

3rd Place: Stephen George for “The Speed of Slow,” “Mr. Yarmuth goes to Washington” and “Share the road”

Editorial Cartoon

1st Place: Brian Orms for “Liberal Dose”

Column Writing

2nd Place: Sara Havens for “Bar Belle”

1st Place: Jim Welp for “Summary of My Discontent”

Sports Writing

3rd Place: Bill Doolittle for “Meet the new boss,” “Drawing straws” and “Who says it’s a house”


3rd Place: T.E. Lyons for music criticism

2nd Place: Alan Abbott for film criticism

1st Place: Sherry Deatrick for theater criticism

Headline Writing

2nd Place: Sara Havens for “Skater dye: ‘Decked Out’ exhibit features more than 100 decorated boards”

Graphic Illustration

Honorable Mention: Gina Gentile-Moeller for “Share the road” and “Through the mess, darkly”

3rd Place: Britany Baker for “What, me worry?”, “Election Issues” and “Don’t tread on me”

2nd Place: Joe Welsh for “Not good for nothing”

Page Design

Honorable Mention: Ben Schneider

3rd Place: Britany Baker

Leave a Reply