Tucson Weekly Picks Up Several Awards

Tucson Weekly took top honors in several key categories of the the Arizona Newspapers Association’s 2010 Better Newspapers Contest.

The paper received first place for General Excellence in the non-daily division and reporter Jim Nintzel was named non-daily Journalist of the Year.

In addition to those awards, Tucson Weekly won first place in the following categories:

  • Departmental News & Copywriting Excellence
  • Editorial Page Excellence
  • Special Section
  • Newspaper Online Site/Web Page
  • Individual award winners included Tim Vanderpool (Best News Story), Tom Danehy (Best Sports Column and Best Column, Analysis or Commentary), and James DiGiovana (Best Column, Feature or Criticism).