AAN Announces 2014 Convention Grant Recipients

Twelve alt media standouts have been awarded scholarships to attend the AAN Annual Convention in Nashville next month.

The scholarships provide reimbursement for a portion of travel and lodging expenses, and the recipients will have their conference registration fee waived.

“Congratulations to an outstanding class of scholarship recipients!” said AAN Executive Director Tiffany Shackelford. “These talented individuals have demonstrated a strong commitment to the alternative news industry, and we are thrilled that they will be joining us in Nashville.”

2014 AAN Convention Scholarship Recipients

(Listed alphabetically by last name)

Sam Allard, Cleveland Scene

Michael Barajas, University of Missouri School of Journalism

Carolina del Busto, Miami New Times

April Corbin, LEO Weekly (Louisville)

Ray Downs, Riverfront Times (St. Louis)

Emily Hopkins, DigBoston

David Hudnall, The Pitch (Kansas City)

Randy LoBasso, Philadelphia Weekly

J. David Mendez, Tucson Weekly

Nick Miller, Sacramento News & Review

Allison Saunders, The Coast (Halifax)

John H. Tucker, INDY Week (Raleigh)

The 37th annual AAN Convention will take place July 10-12 at the Sheraton in Nashville.