AAN Names 2013 Convention Scholarship Recipients

Twenty-one journalism students and professionals have been awarded scholarships to attend the AAN Annual Convention in Miami next month.

The scholarships provide reimbursement for a portion of travel and lodging expenses, and the recipients will have their conference registration fee waived.

“For the second year in a row, AAN has awarded conference scholarships for diversity, student and young professionals so as to ensure the future successes of our industry,” said AAN President Fran Zankowski. “In Miami our scholarship grantees can expect a dynamic and intensive 3 days of seminars, networking and parties … especially the VirgAAN reception which will introduce newbies to the association. What an outstanding class of awardees.”

2013 AAN Convention Scholarship Recipients

(Listed alphabetically by last name)

Leigh Anne Anderson, Creative Loafing Atlanta (Diversity Scholarship)

Jasmine Barnes, Temple University (Next Generation Student Fund)

Ashley Belanger, Orlando Weekly (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Martin Cizmar, Willamette Week (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Willie Clark, City Newspaper (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Tyler Hayden, Santa Barbara Independent (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Hannah Huber, Style Weekly (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Elizabeth Jones, Nashville Scene (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Ben Kubany, Willamette Week (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Craig Lemley, Ohio Center for Broadcasting (Next Generation Student Fund)

Kristie McClanahan, Riverfront Times (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Ana McKenzie, Creative Loafing Charlotte (Diversity Scholarship)

Kate X Messer, Austin Chronicle (Diversity Scholarship)

Elizabeth Miller, Boulder Weekly (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Lindsey Peterson, Medill School of Journalism (Next Generation Student Fund)

Zachary Pincus-Roth, L.A. Weekly (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Matthew Schniper, Colorado Springs Independent (Next Generation Professional Fund)

Andrea Thomas, Jackson Free Press (Diversity Scholarship)

Hayley Watson, Cord Community (Diversity Scholarship)

Anni Zak, Columbia University (Next Generation Student Fund)

Alex Zaragoza, San Diego CityBeat (Diversity Scholarship)

The AAN Convention will take place July 11-13 at the InterContinental Hotel in Miami.