Long Island Press ‘Dominated’ 2010 New York Press Association Awards

The Long Island Press brought home a total of 23 awards at the New York Press Association (NYPA)’s 2010 Better Newspaper Contest when winners were announced last weekend.

The Press earned honors across 14 categories, winning 13 First-Place awards and clinching the competition’s top prize, the Stuart C. Dorman Award for Editorial Excellence.

The NYPA writes:

The Long Island Press dominated the competition this year, earning 330 total contest points, 260 of them in editorial categories. The judges said, “This paper isn’t as beautifully designed as some, but what is beautiful is the breadth and depth of the subject matter; pages loaded with local color — colorful local characters and paid color ads. This newspaper is a great read — and isn’t it all about giving people a good read?”

The Press also issued a press release touting its wins:

Among the accolades, Press Senior Writer/Editor – Investigations Christopher Twarowski racked up nine honors; four First Place — Best News Story, Best In-Depth Reporting, Best Coverage of the Environment and Best News or Feature Series, for his three-part investigative series into environmental missteps and managerial malfeasance at Nassau County’s two major sewage treatment plants. Press Staff Reporter Jaclyn Gallucci took home five honors, including First Place for Best Feature Story; she and News Editor Timothy Bolger shared the top nod for Best Coverage of Crime/Police/Courts. Senior Editor Spencer Rumsey earned three honors, as did Staff Writer Rashed Mian. Press Publisher Jed Morey won First-Place for Best Column; Associate Publisher Beverly Fortune also ranked in that category.

The Long Island Press also claimed the top spots for Overall Design Excellence, Best Use of Multimedia, Best Graphic Illustration, Best Special Section Cover and Best Special Sections. It was also awarded first place for NYPA’s Past Presidents’ Award for General Excellence.

Several other AAN member papers also fared well in the contest, with Ithaca Times winning three awards, the New York Press and Metroland each taking home two, and Syracuse New Times winning one.

For a full list of winners, click here.

Leave a Reply