Ohio Alt-Weeklies Win SPJ Awards

Three AAN members received “Best in Ohio” awards from the Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus Pro chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Cleveland Scene‘s Maude L. Campbell was named Best Reporter in Ohio and Kyle Swenson took first-place in the Criminal Justice Reporting category. Campbell also received two second-place nods in the Investigative Reporting and Public Service Journalism categories.

The Other Paper received two first-place awards courtesy of editor Eric Lyttle (Rock and Roll Feature Writing) and Lyndsey Teter (Health Care Reporting). Steph Greeger picked up a second-place award in the Children’s Issues Reporting category.

Cincinnati CityBeat won for Best Website and took second-place for Best Weekly newspaper. Music editor Mike Breen received second-place honors for Rock and Roll Commentary.

Leave a Reply