Tucson Weekly Named Best Non-Daily Newspaper in Arizona

This past Saturday, the Arizona Newspapers Association named Tucson Weekly the non-daily Newspaper of the Year in its annual contest.

Tucson Weekly won a total of 13 awards, including individual honors for writers Leo W. Banks, Tom Danehy, Renée Downing, Mari Herreras, Josh Morgan, Jim Nintzel, Stephen Seigel, and Tim Vanderpool.

The paper also received recognition for its coverage of the January shooting that wounded Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and killed six others.

The Sierra Vista Herald, which is owned by Tucson Weekly’s parent company, Wick Communications, received the Newspaper of the Year award for daily papers.