Florida Alt-Weeklies Win Sunshine State Awards

Miami New Times staff writer Michael E. Miller was named Journalist of the Year at the 2013 Sunshine State Awards, held by the SPJ South Florida chapter.

The paper picked up three other awards, including a first-place nod for Tim Elfrink in the feature reporting category.

Creative Loafing Tampa won four awards overall, including first-place wins for Andrew Spear (art/photo illustration), Todd Bates (front page design), and Mark Leib (arts commentary & criticism).

New Times Broward-Palm Beach earned two third-place awards in the beat reporting and feature reporting categories.

Leave a Reply