Texas Alts Shine Bright at 2012 Lone Star Awards

Houston Press, Fort Worth Weekly, and San Antonio Current took honors in several categories at the Houston Press Club’s recent Lone Star Awards.

Houston Press led the pack, scoring 10 awards in its division, including second place Print Journalist of the Year for staff writer John Lomax. The paper took first place in Business Story (Craig Masilow), Politics/Government (Mandy Oaklander), Photo Package (Daniel Kramer). In General Commentary/Criticism, editor Margaret Downing won the paper first, second and third place.

Fort Worth Weekly took home four awards, with staff writer Peter Gorman placing third in Print Journalist of the Year. The paper also took awards in Public Service and Politics/Government.

San Antonio Current staff writer Michael Barajas won his paper three first awards in its division: Print Journalist of the Year, News or Feature Story and Investigative Reporting—which he shared with editor Gregory Harman. Harman also took first place in Commentary for his column, Lone Star Green.

Leave a Reply